To view, Spalding County Commission meetings live: CLICK HERE  or inSpalding TV CLICK HERE




Board of Commissioners

Spalding County is governed by an elected five-member Board of Commissioners, each Commissioner representing a different geographic district of Spalding County.  The Board of Commissioners are charged with establishment of Ordinances and Policies relating to operation of the County government.  In addition the Board of Commissioners will act on citizen requests such as zoning matters.  The Spalding County Chairman and Vice Chairman positions are elected by the Board of Commissioners and are voted on annually.  The first official act of the Board of Commissioners at the first public meeting of each year is to elect a Chairman and Vice Chairman.

This link contains a map of Spalding County broken into Districts. The link opens a pdf file that is scalable so that you can locate the streets within the district. Once you determine your district, you can click on the links below to learn more about your Commissioner.

Gwen Flowers-Taylor 

District 1
Gwen Flowers-Taylor
Currently serving her fifth term as Commissioner to District 1 starting January 1, 2005, Commissioner Flowers-Taylor’s term will expire December 31, 2024.

Learn more about Commissioner Flowers-Taylor

Raymond Ray  

District 2
James R. Dutton
Currently serving his second term as Commissioner for District 2 starting in January 2019. Commissioner Dutton’s term will expire December 31, 2026.

Learn more about Commissioner Dutton

Rita Johnson 

District 3
Rita Johnson
Currently serving her third term as Commissioner to District 3 starting January 1, 2013, Commissioner Johnson’s term will expire December 31, 2024.

Learn more about Commissioner Johnson

Bart Miller 

District 4 – Vice Chairman
Ryan Bowlden
Just elected to his first term as Commissioner of District 4, Bowlden’s term will end on December 31, 2024.

Learn more about Commissioner Bowlden

Clay Davis - Chairman 

District 5 – Chairman
Clay Davis III
Sworn in on February 2, 2021, Commissioner Davis’ was appointed by the Governor to complete the term of a previous commissioner and was elected to office November 2022. His term will expire December 2026.  

Learn more about Commissioner Davis


Commission Meetings and FAQ’s

One way to learn what is happening in Spalding County is by attending a meeting of the Board of Commissioners. All of the business conducted by the county is discussed and decided upon in these meetings, including, but not limited to road issues, grants, budgetary matters and local programs. The Spalding County Board of Commissioners encourages all of its citizens to attend the Commission Meetings and learn more about your county government and how it works.

When does the Board of Commissioners meet and are these meetings open to the public?

The Spalding County Board of Commissioners meets on the first and third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in Room 108 of the Spalding County Courthouse Annex. A notice containing the date and time for each meeting is posted and maintained in a conspicuous place available to the general public at the regular meeting place of the board, in addition all meeting notices are distributed to the local media for publication. All of the meetings are open to the public, except for those occasions involving matters that are specifically exempt under the Georgia Open Meetings Law.

Can a citizen speak at a Board of Commissioners Meeting if they are not on the Agenda?

The Spalding County Board of Commissioners welcome public comment. Any individual wishing to make a comment will need to sign up on the sign in sheet available at the meeting. Individuals who have signed in will be allowed to speak during the Public Comments portion of the Agenda. Please note that in order to manage available time, each comment will be limited to three (3) minute time period.

Spalding County Board of Commissioners

AgendasAfter AgendasMinutesArchives

2022 BOC Meeting Dates
2022 Zoning Public Hearing Dates

Spalding County, GA